Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver

If individuals needing to conduct business with Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1 are over age 65 and/or have serious underlying health conditions, such as:

 

High Blood Pressure, Chronic Lung Disease, Diabetes, Obesity, Asthma

 

Or those who have immune systems which could be compromised as such by chemotherapy for cancer or other conditions requiring such therapy.  These individuals are considered to be highly vulnerable to the COVID-19 virus.

 

Please contact the court by calling

979-244-7666 or emailing us at jp1@co.matagorda.tx.us to identify yourself as a vulnerable individual and receive accommodations.

 

 

 

COVID-19 OPERATING PLAN FOR THE MATAGORDA COUNTY JUDICIARY


Per social distancing requirements ordered by the Supreme Court of Texas, our current courtroom capacity is limited to 4 individuals.



Justice of the Peace, Precinct #1

Jason K. Sanders

1700 7th Street, Room 201

Bay City, TX 77414-5091

(979) 244-7660

(979) 244-7666

Fax: (979) 244-7696

Email: jp1@co.matagorda.tx.us



Spanish Available

Español Disponible



To Pay JP1 Online

Instructions for Payments

Matagorda County Seal 3

Office Hours:

Monday thru Thursday: 8:00AM - 5:00PM

Closed for Lunch from 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

 

Friday: 8:00AM - 5:00PM **Courtesy Window Closed**

*Office can be reached by phone or email*

 

 

Court Clerks

Maricruz Galvan

Lacey Downing

 

Zoom Hearings can be observed live through our YouTube Channel:

Matagorda County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1 YouTube Channel

 

***NOTE***

Do NOT attempt to contact any judge directly concerning an ongoing court case. This is considered ex parte communication and is illegal under Texas Law. Direct all inquires to the judge's staff.

Texas Public Information Act Request

  • If you have been issued a traffic citation, the following plea options are available:

    1. Guilty or No Contest (fine and court costs are assessed)

    2. Not Guilty (your case will be set for a Pre-Trial Hearing with the Assistant District Attorney)

    ALTERNATIVES TO PAYMENT OF FINES AND COSTS

    A defendant who is convicted of a criminal offense punishable by fine only is entitled to alternative methods of satisfying the judgment against them if they are unable to pay the fine or costs, in whole or in part.

    Those alternative methods include:

    1. A payment plan, allowing the defendant to make payments toward the fine and costs in designated intervals. Note that if any amount is paid more than 30 days after the judgment assessing the fine or costs then a $15 time payment fee must be assessed.

    2. Disposition of the amount assessed by performing community service.There are many options that meet the requirements of the law for community service, see Art. 45.049 of the Code of Criminal Procedure for full details.A defendant is entitled to a minimum of $100 credit for every 8 hours of community service performed.

    3. If performing community service imposes an undue hardship, a defendant who is indigent or who lacks sufficient resources to pay may be entitled to a waiver of the fine and costs, in whole or in part.

    For Driver Safety Course Request, please review the following instructions.

    Driving Safety Course Instructions

     

    If defendant does not have sufficient resources to pay, an affidavit must be completed and submitted to our court for review. 

    Affidavit of Indigence