Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver

Justice of the Peace Precinct #6

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Due to health and safety concerns regarding the increase of COVID-19 cases in Matagorda County, our office will be operating with limited access to the public until further notice. 

COVID-19 Operating Plan for the Matagorda County Judiciary.pdf
Per social distancing requirements ordered by the Supreme Court of Texas, our current courtroom capacity is limited to 9 individuals.

Face Coverings per County Judge Nate McDonald

James E. Powell

22001 FM 457
Sargent, TX 77414
Located Sargent V.F.D. Building
(979)245-0358  Fax (979)245-2805  

Office Hours: Monday thru Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Closed on Fridays.         

Email

To Pay JP6 Online
Instructions on how to pay online.

***NOTE*** 
 Do NOT attempt to contact any judge directly concerning an ongoing court case. This is considered  ex parte communication and is illegal under Texas Law. Direct all inquires to the judge's staff. 

For FREE legal advice please see the Self Help Resources section below. 

Texas Public Information Act

  • If you have been issued a traffic citation, the following plea options are available:

    1.     Guilty or Nolo Contendere (No Contest). Fine and court cost will be assessed.

    2.     Not Guilty, your case will be set for a Pre-Trial Hearing with the Assistant District Attorney. For Not Guilty Plea click HERE .

    Alternatives to Payment of Fines and Court Costs.

    A defendant who is convicted of a criminal offense punishable by fine only is entitled to alternative methods of satisfying the judgment against them if they are unable to pay the fine or court costs, in whole or in part.

    Alternative methods include:

    1.     A payment plan, allowing the defendant to make payments toward the fine and court costs in designated intervals. Note that if any amount is paid more than 30 days after the judgment assessing the fine or court costs then a $15 time payment fee is assessed.

    2.     A disposition of the amount assessed by performing community service. There are many options that meet the requirements of the law for community service, See Code of Criminal Procedures Art. 45.049 for full details. A defendant is entitled to a minimum of $100 credit for every 8 hours of community service performed.

    3.     If performing community service imposes an undue hardship, a defendant who is indigent or who lacks sufficient resources to pay may be entitled to a waiver of the fine and court costs, in whole or in part.

    For Driver Safety Course Request, please review the following instructions. 
    Click HERE for Driving Safety Course Instructions.  Should you qualify for Driving Safety Course click HERE for request form and plea.

    If defendant does not have sufficient resourced to pay, an Affidavit of Indigency click HERE must be completed and submitted to our court for review.