Brown County Clerk
200 South Broadway, STE 101
Brownwood, TX 76801
Telephone: 325-643-2594


Texas Counties Deliver – learn how county government serves you
Birth and Death Records Requests

You may fill out and submit an Order Form for Birth or Death records. Valid ID and payment is required by credit/debit card, or cash in person, or request can be by mail. If request is by mail, for a certified birth certificate or a certified death certificate, you must include the notarized statement and

**Payment by mail must be a cashier check or money order.**

Birth Records

Issuance of birth certificates is restricted to qualified applicants for 75 years from the date of birth. Applicants must have the proper application, ID and fees. Each certified copy of birth record is $23.00. BIRTH AND DEATH RECORDS ARE NOT OPEN FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION.

Death Records

Issuance of death certificates is restricted to qualified applicants for 25 years from date of death. The fee for a certified copy of a death certificate is $21.00 for the first copy, $4.00 for each additional copy requested at the same time.

Properly qualified applicants for birth and death request: the registrant or an immediate family member {father, mother, grandfather, grandmother, brother, sister, husband, or wife} by blood, marriage or adoption, or a legal agent or representative. A legal representative is defined as a court appointed administrator or guardian, or a power of attorney appointee. It is at the discretion of the County Clerk to determine whether sufficient identification has been provided.

Proper ID for obtaining a certified copy of a birth or death certificate 

US Government-issued driver license; US Government issued Country/State/County ID card; US Current student ID with picture; US Government employment badge or card; Private company employment badge or card; Prison ID/Offender ID card; US Military ID: Passport (from any country); US Citizenship Certificate or Certificate of Naturalization; Permanent Resident Card (Resident Alien);US Department of Homeland Employment authorization card; Resident alien card; US Citizen Identification; Border Crossing Card; Reentry Permit Form; Refugee Travel Document; Concealed Handgun license; Pilot's license; Social Worker employee ID.


In the absence of any of the forms of identification listed above, secondary and supporting identification may be used when obtaining a birth certificate. Please refer to the list of acceptable identification documents.

Identification List

We offer an Abstract Birth Record (short form from the remote site) for those individuals born in Texas but outside the boundary of Brown County. The abstract record may or may not be accepted by the Passport Office and the Clerk's office cannot make a guarantee of acceptance for the passport process. 

To obtain a certified copy of your birth record or a certified copy of a death record, you must complete an Application form. The form is available below or in the office and must be filled out completely, must have a copy of proper government issued photo ID and have the proper fees. No plain copies are allowed by law to be issued. Requests submitted by mail must have the notarized statement completed, proper payment by cashier's check or money order as personal checks will not be accepted. Debit or credit cards may be used in the office and there will be additional fees for use of your credit/debit card.

Sharon Ferguson Brown County Clerk Telephone: 325-643-2594
200 South Broadway, STE 101  
Brownwood, TX 76801