Texas Counties Deliver – learn how county government serves you


EFFECTIVE 01-01-2024

Marriage License Fees

Without Premarital Course Certificate - $81.00 payment by cashier’s check, money order,

With Premarital Course Completion - $21.00 debit card, or cash (no personal checks accepted)

Informal Marriage (Common Law) - $46.00

Marriage License

In the State of Texas, to apply for a marriage license, per Texas Family Code Section 2.002, each person applying for license must appear before the County Clerk and submit proof of age and identity, as provided by Section 2.005(b) typically a valid state driver’s license, valid state ID Card, US Passport or visa, or any certificate of license issued by this state, another state, or the U.S. government, at the Clerk’s discretion.  Proof of ID must include a photo, name and date of birth.  Each applicant must take the oath, printed on the application, and sign the application before the county clerk.

72 hour waiting period

The license is valid for 90 days from the date of purchase.  Per Texas Family Code 2.204 a marriage ceremony may not take place during the 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license. The waiting period does not apply to a member of the armed forces  of the United States and on active duty; Department of Defense; obtains a written waiver from a judge with family law jurisdiction; completes a premarital education course approved by the State as described in Section 2.013.

Underage Applicant

For an underage applicant that is less than 18 years of age, you must have a Court Order Granting Permission to Marry in order to apply for a marriage license as per Texas Family Code Section 2.003A.

Absent Applicant

Texas Family Code Section 2.007(c) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), the clerk may not issue a marriage license for which both applicants are absent unless the person applying on behalf of each applicant provides, to the clerk, an affidavit of the applicant declaring that the applicant is a member of the armed forces of the Unites States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation.


State Approved Premarital Education Course

72 hour waiting period is waived and the cost of the marriage license is reduced.  For more information, please visit: www.twogetherintexas.com

Copy of Marriage License

Only certified copies of marriage records will be released.  This office only has on record the licenses that were purchased in Brown County and returned for recording, regardless of where the ceremony took place.  The fee for a certified copy is $7.00.  No personal checks accepted.

Correction to Marriage License

Texas Family Code Section 2.209(c) provides for corrections to a recorded marriage license provided that both parties to the marriage execute a notarized affidavit stating the error.

If you have any questions not addressed here, please call the Brown County Clerk’s Office at (325)643-2594