Skip Navigation
Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver
County Clerk

MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION AND FORMS


Marriage licenses are available Monday-Friday, 8:00 AM to 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM to 4:30 PM

Both applicants must be present to receive the license.  In the State of Texas, a marriage license is valid for ninety (90) days from the day it is issued. After the marriage license is issued there is a seventy-two (72) hour waiting period until the license becomes valid. The marriage license may be used anywhere in the State of Texas.

To apply for the marriage license each applicant shall submit:

  • Proof of identity and age (Driver's License, State Identification card)
  • Verbalize the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk.
  • The fee for a marriage license is $82.00. (CASH ONLY)

Application For Marriage License (PDF Form)

The legislature passed HB 2685 which authorizes a statewide initiative to promote “Healthy Marriages”.  You must provide your Twogether in Texas certificate before we can give you the waived fee of $60.00.


For Couples taking the State-Approved Marriage Class:

  • Procedures for applying for a marriage license remain the same.
  • Course certificate must be able to be verified through the State of Texas on-line by the Clerk's office.
  • 72 hour waiting period is automatically waived.
  • Marriage license fee is $22.00.  Course certificate must be provided to clerk in order to receive this discounted license fee.
  • For more information visit the www.twogetherintexas.com.

Electronic Marriage License Application:  Both applicants must be able to visit the County Clerk’s office in person within 3 days of submitting your application in order to obtain your marriage license.  After 3 days the application will be removed from our queue and you will need to complete your application again.  Applications are also available to complete when you visit our office.

Applicants will need to complete the following in the office to obtain the marriage license:

  • Bring proof of identity (Driver's License, State Identification card)
  • Verbalize the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk
  • The fee for a marriage license is $82.00. (CASH ONLY)
  • Please note: The 72-hour waiting period goes into effect after your marriage license is issued by the clerk. The 72-hour waiting period is not based on the date in which your electronic application is submitted.

Application For Marriage License (E-Form)  IN PERSON applicant only.

INFORMAL MARRIAGE LICENSE FORM

To apply for an Informal Marriage License each applicant shall submit:

  • Proof of identity and age (Driver's License, State Identification card)
  • Verbalize the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk
  • The fee for a informal marriage license is $46.00. (CASH ONLY)

Application for Informal Marriage (PDF Form)

Application for Informal Marriage (E-Form)  IN PERSON applicant only.

BIRTH AND DEATH INFORMATION AND FORM

Properly Qualified Applicants and the forms of ID to get a Birth or Death Certificate are attached.  This is the only way that a person can obtain a certified copy of either a birth or death certificate.  You can only obtain a certified copy, NO PLAIN COPIES WILL BE ISSUED.  Immediate family members (Mother, Father, Sister, Brother, Grandparent) can also purchase a birth or death certificate for you.

  • The fee for a certified Birth Certificate is $23.00 for each certificate.
  • The fee for a certified Death Certificate is $21.00 for the first one and $4.00 for each additional certificate, for the same person.
  • Applicant will need a valid I.D.

    Birth & Death Application (PDF Form)-Please complete the affidavit below to receive the certificate by mail.


    To obtain a birth or death certificate via PDF Form you will need to mail the following items:


  • The application above, a Birth and or Death Affidavit , which must be signed and notarized
  • A clear copy of your driver license or valid I.D.


Birth & Death Application (E-Form)  IN PERSON applicant only.  

To obtain a birth or death certificate via E-Form you will need to come IN PERSON to the Anderson County

Clerk's office at 500 North Church Street Room 10 Palestine, Texas 75801 and bring the following items:

  •  A clear copy of your driver license or valid I.D.
  •  The applicant filling out the E-Form will need to appear in the office for the requested certificate within 3 days of     completing the application or the application will be removed from the order queue and the process will need to be   repeated.        


Birth records become open records to the public after the anniversary date of the 75th year.  Death records become open records to the public after the anniversary date of the 25th year. 

 

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM