
NOTICE OF 2016 TAX YEAR PROPOSED 
PROPERTY TAX RATE FOR HUTCHINSON 

COUNTY

A tax rate of $0.530000 per $100 valuation has been proposed for adoption by the governing body of 
Hutchinson County. This rate exceeds the lower of the effective or rollback tax rate, and state law requires 
that two public hearings be held by the governing body before adopting the proposed tax rate. 

The governing body of Hutchinson County proposes to use revenue attributable to the tax rate increase for 
the purpose of unfunded mandates, operating and upgrading costs.. 

PROPOSED TAX RATE $0.530000 per $100
PRECEDING YEAR'S TAX RATE $0.500000 per $100
EFFECTIVE TAX RATE $0.504573 per $100
ROLLBACK TAX RATE $0.544938 per $100

The effective tax rate is the total tax rate needed to raise the same amount of property tax revenue for 
Hutchinson County from the same properties in both the 2015 tax year and the 2016 tax year. 

The rollback tax rate is the highest tax rate that Hutchinson County may adopt before voters are entitled to 
petition for an election to limit the rate that may be approved to the rollback rate. 

YOUR TAXES OWED UNDER ANY OF THE ABOVE RATES CAN BE CALCULATED AS 
FOLLOWS: 

property tax amount= (rate) x (taxable value of your property)/100 

For assistance or detailed information about tax calculations, please contact: 

Carrie Kimmell 
Hutchinson County Tax Assessor-Collector 
5th & Main Rm 201 Stinnett, Texas 79083 
(806) 878-4005 
ckimmell@hutchinsoncnty.com 
hutchinsoncountyonline.com 

You are urged to attend and express your views at the following public hearings on the proposed tax rate: 

First Hearing: August 8, 2016 at 9:30 AM at 5th & Main Street, Stinnett, Texas (County Court Room)..

Second Hearing: August 29, 2016 at 9:30 AM at 5th & Main Street, Stinnett, Texas (County Court Room)..


