
Bonded Title Procedure 

Step 1: Determine your eligibility
• In order to qualify, you must be a Texas resident or military personnel stationed in Texas; or
• Have a vehicle that was last titled in Texas, and
• The vehicle must be in your possession and cannot be considered abandoned, junked, stolen, or in any other

pending lawsuits. Although not required to be operational, it must be a complete vehicle including a frame, body
and motor or if a motorcycle, a frame and motor.

If you meet the above eligibility requirements, you may take or mail the following documents to your nearest TxDMV 
Regional Service Center: 

• A Statement of Fact for Bonded Title (VTR-130-SOF);
• A Statement of Physical Inspection (VTR-270);
• All supporting evidence of ownership (Bill of Sale, Invoice, Cancelled Check, etc.);
• $15.00 Bonded Title Application Fee; and
• Acceptable Photo ID which must include a photograph, unique identification number, birth date, and expiration

date.
• ***Additional information may be required by the TxDMV Regional Service Center***

If your documents are approved, you will be issued a letter stating the amount of the required bond, equal to 1½ times the 
value of the vehicle. The department will determine the value of the vehicle using one of the sources below: 

For vehicles newer than 25 years old in order of preference: 

• The Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) from our web site (www.TxDMV.gov) as the primary source;
• If a SPV is not available, the National Auto Dealers Association (NADA) reference guide will be used; or
• If a value is not available either through SPV or NADA, a licensed motor vehicle dealer or insurance adjuster

may appraise the vehicle on a Motor Vehicle Appraisal for Tax Collector Hearing / Bonded Title (form VTR-125) ;

For vehicles 25 years old or older, TxDMV staff will use the greater of: 

• A set value of $4,000.00 multiplied by 1.5 will be assigned to the vehicle;
• If the applicant has a bill of sale over $4,000.00, that amount will be multiplied by 1.5 and assigned to the vehicle;
• The applicant must sign a certification attesting the vehicle value does not exceed the amount of the bond.

Step 2: Purchase a surety bond 
Take the letter and other documents given to you by the TxDMV Regional Service Center to an auto insurance agency or 
any agency that is licensed to sell vehicle Surety Bonds in Texas. The letter from the TxDMV Regional Service Center is 
valid for only one year based on the vehicle value. 

Step 3: Apply for a bonded title 
Within 30 days of obtaining the bond, take the original letter given to you by the TxDMV Regional Service Center and the 
documents listed above, to your county tax office, in addition to: 

• A completed Application for Texas Title (form 130-U) including any additional documents required by this form;
• Acceptable Photo ID which includes a photograph, unique identification number, birth date, and expiration date;
• weight certificate (if a commercial vehicle, a truck, or a trailer);
• A Vehicle Identification Report (VIR), completed by an authorized Safety Inspection Station (if previously titled

out-of-state); and
• An (HS 7) Customs Document or other U.S. Customs declarations (if the vehicle is imported from another

country).

http://www.txdmv.gov/vehicles/titles/bonded.htm  See reverse form more detailed information 

http://www.txdmv.gov/contact-us
http://www.txdmv.gov/contact-us
tools.cira.state.tx.us/users/0480/docs/Tax%20Office/VTR-130-SOF.pdf
http://www.txdot.gov/txdoteforms/GetForm?formName=/VTR-270.xdp&appID=/VTR&status=/reportError.jsp&configFile=WFServletConfig.xml
tools.cira.state.tx.us/users/0480/docs/Tax%20Office/VTR-270.pdf
http://www.txdmv.gov/
tools.cira.state.tx.us/users/0480/docs/Tax%20Office/VTR-125.pdf
http://www.txdmv.gov/contact-us
tools.cira.state.tx.us/users/0480/docs/Tax%20Office/130-U.pdf
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/vi/VIactiveStationLocator/default.aspx
http://www.txdmv.gov/vehicles/titles/bonded.htm


Bonded Title Procedure 

 

 

COUNTY USE ONLY 
1   STATEMENT OF FACT (VTR-130-SOF) 

2   TXDMV LETTER ESTABLISHING AMOUNT OF BOND REQUIRED - EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 1, 2012 A $15.00 FEE                                               
(CASH, CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER) WILL BE CHARGED ON ALL APPLICATIONS 

 *Date on letter may not exceed one year from date of filing at tax office. 
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DOCUMENTS USED TO ESTABLISH BOND AMOUNT 

  Print out of Standard Presumptive Value -OR- 

  Photocopies of NADA Appraisal Guide pages -OR- 

  Motor Vehicle Appraisal for Tax Collector Hearing / Bonded Title (FORM VTR-125) 
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SURETY BOND (FORM VTR-130/SB) 

  Must be original and must be issued on the prescribed form VTR-130/SB or must contain the exact wording.                                      

  Must have been purchased within 1 year of the date on the TXDMV letter and the form 130-U. 

  Must contain the Principal’s (applicant's) name, complete address, original signature, and date of signature. 

  Applicant's name must be the same as on the TXDMV letter and the Form 130-U. 

  Spelling of applicant name must be the same as on the TXDMV letter and the Form 130-U. 

  Must contain the surety company's name, complete address, and signature of agent. 

  If bond is executed by an attorney-in-fact, the original power of attorney (certified copy of the original power of 
attorney may be accepted on or after 1-1-2000) must be attached to bond. 

  Surety company seal must be embossed, stamped, or affixed to the bond in the space provided.  (Only required 
on bonds submitted on or after 1-1-2000). 

  Must describe the correct vehicle (year, make, model, VIN, body style). 

  Bond must indicate the effective date. 

  Bond must be submitted within 30 days of the effective date of the bond.  If over 30 days, must have a "rider" or 
another original surety bond that extends the bond period. 

  Bond amount must be equal to or greater than the required amount shown on the TXDMV letter. 

  Bond must indicate a "Bond Number". 

  No errors (typos, erases, strikeovers, etc.) on the bond. 
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VERIFICATION OF THE VIN 

  Must have a Statement of Physical Inspection, Form VTR-270, or a legible pencil tracing -OR- 

  If evidence indicates vehicle is from another state or country, a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) is required. 
6 VALID PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY IN APPLICANT'S NAME (If transferring or purchasing 

registration). 

MISCELLANEOUS REMINDERS: 
1 The items listed above are the minimum requirements.  Additional evidence may be surrendered in addition to those 

items listed above, such as printouts, copies of bills of sale, cancelled checks, etc. 
2 "Bonded Title" must be selected on the RTS Ownership Evidence Screen and appear on the RTS title application 

receipt. 
3 "Special Examination Needed" notation must be checked on the RTS Title Additional Info Screen and appear on 

the RTS title application receipt for "Special Handling" of the transaction. 
 


