
   

 
 

STEPS FOR EVICTION INFORMATION SHEET 

1. An eviction must be filed in the Justice precinct where the rental property is located.  

2. Texas Property Code, Sec. 24.005 sets out the notice requirements for eviction suits. (Unless the 

notice requirements are stated in the signed lease.)  

3. The notice to vacate must be in writing and should be unconditional, i.e., it should tell the tenant 

to vacate by a specific date in no uncertain terms naming each occupant the landlord seeks to 

evict from the premises.  

4. Unless there is an agreement between the parties shortening the notice requirements, the landlord 

must wait three days after the notice to vacate is served before filing the eviction. Delivery of the 

notice must be done by one of the following methods (a) Handed to a tenant in person, or anyone 

living at the premises that is at least 16 yrs. old. (b) Mailed to the tenant. If mailed, the landlord 

must wait an additional two (2) days to allow for the mail to be delivered before filing the eviction. 

(c) Attaching to the inside of the main entry door.  

5. When filing, the landlord must bring the following:  

a. A copy of the lease 

b. A copy of the notice to vacate 

c. $121.00 for filing and service on one person (additional service is $75.00 per person)  

d. All work and residence addresses and telephone numbers of the tenant(s) known by the 

landlord  

6. All parties named in the lease should be sued and served with a citation in the eviction proceeding. 

Any judgment granted will run only against those who are specifically named and served. 

7. The owner's agent may file any type of eviction suit and may represent the owner at any default 

judgment hearing. If the case is contested an agent may represent either party if the case involves 

non-payment of rent or holding over. The parties or their attorneys must try all other types of 

evictions if the case is contested.  

8. A suit for rent may be filed with the eviction suit if the amount due is within the jurisdiction of the 

justice court ($20,000 or less). Charges for items other than rent cannot be joined with suit for 

eviction.  

9. A default judgment can be granted if the tenant fails to answer and/or appear for court after being 

served.  

 11. A court date will be set at the time the eviction is filed with the court. This date will  appear on the 

Defendant’s citation. Both parties are expected to appear at that date/time. Any continuance request 

must be in writing, timely and agreed to by all parties. 

12. Under the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, either party to the lawsuit has five days to appeal the 

courts decision. If neither party appeals, the landlord may obtain a Writ of Possession from the court 

after the five (5) day period for appeal has passed. The writ fee of $150.00 is payable to JP court to 

cause the tenant to vacate the premises. Questions involving the execution of the writ should be 

directed to the constable's office, in Pct. 5.  

We are prohibited by law to answer any questions regarding who you should file on and when or if a 

notice to vacate should be given. Any legal questions should be forwarded to an attorney. 

Judge Tisha Bien, Justice of the Peace, Pct. 5 



 

Justice Court Civil Case Information Sheet (4/13) 

 
Cause Number (for Clerk use ONLY) __________________________ 

 
STYLED _____________________________________________________________________________ 

(e.g., John Smith v. All American Insurance Co; In re Mary Ann Jones; In the Matter of the Estate of George Jackson) 
 

A civil case information sheet must be completed and submitted when an original petition is filed to initiate a new suit.  The information should be the 
best available at the time of filing.  This sheet, required by Rule of Civil Procedure 502, is intended to collect information that will be used for statistical 
purposes only.  It neither replaces nor supplements the filings or service of pleadings or other documents as required by law or rule. The sheet does not 

constitute a discovery request, response, or supplementation, and it is not admissible at trial. 
 

1.  Contact information for person completing case 
information sheet: 

2. Names of parties in case: 

 
Name:                                             Telephone: 
__________________________________________________ 
 
Address:                                          Fax: 
__________________________________________________ 
 
City/State/Zip:                                 State Bar No: 
_______________________________ ____________________ 
 
Email: 
___________________________________________________ 
 
Signature: 
___________________________________________________ 

 
Plaintiff(s): 
 
__________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________ 
 
 
Defendant(s): 
 
___________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________ 

 
[Attach additional page as necessary to list ALL parties] 

 
3.  Indicate case type, or identify the most important issue in the case (select only 1): 

 
Debt Claim:  A debt claim case is a lawsuit brought to 

recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector or 
collection agency, a financial institution, or a person or entity 
primarily engaged in the business of lending money at interest.  
The claim can be for no more than $20,000, excluding statutory 
interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. 

 
Eviction:  An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to 

recover possession of real property, often by a landlord against a 
tenant.  A claim for rent may be joined with an eviction case if 
the amount of rent due and unpaid is not more than $20,000, 
excluding statutory interest and court costs buy including 
attorney fees, if any. 

 
Repair and Remedy:  A repair and remedy case is a 

lawsuit filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, 
Subchapter B of the Texas Property Code to enforce the 
landlord’s duty to repair or remedy a condition materially 
affecting the physical health or safety of an ordinary tenant.  The 
relief sought can be for no more than $20,000, exlcuding 
statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if 
any. 

 
Small Claims:  A small claims case is a lawsuit brought 

for the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal 
property, or other relief allowed by law.  The claim can be for 
no more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court 
costs but including attorney fees, if any. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Judge Tisha Bien                            Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5, Place 1 Phone 940-659-1272 
109 North Oak                        www.co.palo-pinto.tx.us Fax 940-325-5422 
Mineral Wells, Texas 76067   

 
       

CAUSE NO. ____________________ 



   
 

                 _____________________________   §                 IN THE JUSTICE COURT 
                 PLAINTIFF       § 
  § 
                 v.  §            PRECINCT NO.  5 
  § 
                ______________________________       § 
                DEFENDANT  §                       PALO PINTO COUNTY, TEXAS 

 
PETITION: EVICTION CASE 

 
COMPLAINT:  Plaintiff hereby sues the following Defendant(s) for eviction of Plaintiff’s premises 
(including storerooms and parking areas) located in the above precinct.  The address of the property is:                          
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address  Unit No. (if any)  City  State  Zip 
 
GROUNDS FOR EVICTION:  Plaintiff alleges the following grounds for eviction: 

⧠ Unpaid rent.  Defendant(s) failed to pay rent for the following time period(s):    
___________________________________________. The amount of rent claimed as of the date of filing is: 
$____________________. Plaintiff reserves the right to orally amend the amount at trial to include 
rent due from the date of filing through the date of trial. 
 

⧠ Other lease violations. Defendant(s) breached the terms of the lease (other than by failing to 
pay rent) as follows: ____________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

⧠ Holdover.  Defendant(s) are unlawfully holding over by failing to vacate at the end of the 
rental term or renewal of extension period, which was the _____ day of ________________, 20___. 

  
NOTICE TO VACATE:  Plaintiff has given Defendant(s) a written notice to vacate (according to Chapter 
24.005 of the Texas Property Code) and demand for possession.  Such notice was delivered  
on the _________ day of _____________________, 20_________ by this method:  
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
SUIT FOR RENT: Plaintiff ⧠ does or ⧠ does not include a suit for unpaid rent. 
 
ATTORNEY'S FEES: Plaintiff ⧠ will be or ⧠ will not be seeking applicable attorney's fees.  The attorney's 
name, address, phone and fax numbers are:  
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________  
 
IMMEDIATE POSSESSION BOND: If Plaintiff has filed a bond for immediate possession, Plaintiff requests 
that: (1) the Court set the amount of the bond; (2) the Court approves the bond; and (3) proper notices, as 
required by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, are given to Defendant(s). 
 
SERVICE OF CITATION:  Service is requested on Defendant(s) by: personal service at home or work, or by 
delivery to a person over the age of 16 years at Defendant’s usual place of residence.  If required, Plaintiff 
requests alternative service as allowed by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. Other home or work addresses 
where Defendant(s) may be served are: 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________  
Plaintiff knows of no other home or work addresses of Defendant(s) in this county. 



 
 
RELIEF:  Plaintiff requests that Defendant(s) is served with the citation and that Plaintiff is awarded a 
judgment against Defendant(s) for: possession of the premises, including removal of Defendant(s) and 
Defendant’s possessions from the premises, unpaid rent, if set forth above, attorney’s fees, court costs, and 
interest on the above sums at the rate stated in the lease, or if not so stated, at the statutory rate for 
judgments. 
 
⧠ I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is $22 and must be paid at least 3 days before trial. 
 
⧠ I hereby consent for the answer and any other motions or pleadings to be sent to my email address as 
follows: ________________________________________________________________________________.  
 
⧠ I hereby incorporate by reference the attached Verification of Compliance with Section 4024 of the 
CARES Act, CDC Eviction Moratorium Order, and Eviction Diversion Program.  
 

 
  
  
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
      SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this _____day of_____________________, 20_____. 
 
        _______________________________ 
                                     Court Clerk or Notary Public 
  

Defendant’s Information (if known):     
Phone No: _____________________________________ 
Date of birth: __________________________________ 
Last three digits of Soc. Sec. No.:_____________ 

Plaintiff’s Information 
 
________________________________________________ 
Plaintiff’s Printed Name  
______________________________________________ 
Signature of Plaintiff or Agent or Attorney 
 
Address of Plaintiff or Agent or Attorney 
________________________________________________ 
 City                      State        Zip      
 
________________________________________________ 
Phone & Fax No. of Plaintiff  or Agent or 
Attorney 
 



   
 

 
 

Case Number ____________ 
 
 

________________________________     Vs.  _____________________________________ 
Plaintiff      Defendant 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT OF MILITARY STATUS OF DEFENDANT(S) 
 

https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/ 
 

Before me the undersigned notary or clerk of the Justice Court on this day personally appeared the undersigned 
affiant whose identity is known to me.  After I administered an oath to such affiant, he or she upon oath and under 
penalty of perjury (fine and/or up to one year in jail), stated the following: 
 

My name is____________________________________________I am (check one) 
  �   Plaintiff in the above cause 

�  Authorized agent for the plaintiff in the above cause 
 

I am capable of making this affidavit.  The facts stated in the affidavit are within my personal 
knowledge and are true and correct. 

 

  
CHECK OR FILL IN AS APPLICABLE 
 

� The defendant is not in the military 
� Defendant is on active duty in the U.S. Military 
� Defendant has been deployed by the U.S. Military to a foreign country. 
� Plaintiff / Agent for Plaintiff are not able to determine whether defendant is with the U.S. Military. 
� Plaintiff / Agent for Plaintiff are not able to determine whether defendant who is in the U.S. Military has 
been deployed to a foreign country  
� Defendant has signed, while on active duty, a separate written waiver or a written lease containing a 
waiver of his or her rights under the U.S. Service-Members Civil Relief Act of 2003. 

 

 
_______________________________ 
Signature of Plaintiff / Agent for Plaintiff 

 
Sworn and subscribed before me by ______________________________ on the ______ day of  

 
________________________, 20____. 

 
       _______________________________ 
                                   Court Clerk or Notary Public 

  


