REQUEST FORM FOR DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

** Holders of COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSES are NOT eligible for Driving Safety Course or Deferral**

Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may request one charge against you be dismissed by taking a state approved driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course.

HOWEVER, YOU WILL LOSE THIS OPTION IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST IT IN PERSON OR BY MAIL ON OR BEFORE YOUR APPEARANCE DATE AS SHOWN ON YOUR CITATION.

NOTE: The court does not accept a telephone call as an appearance.

This option is available if

- You hold a valid Texas Driver's License or permit (NOT A COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE)
- You are a member of the U.S. Armed Forces on active duty with an out of state license AND show proof of financial responsibility (Insurance).

You are **NOT** Eligible to Take a Driving Safety Course to dismiss a ticket if:

- You have completed a driving safety course for ticket dismissal within the past twelve (12) months prior to the date of your citation. You will be required to sign a legal affidavit stating you are in compliance with this condition.
- You hold a Commercial Driver's License
- You were charged with speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
- You were charged with violating one of the following sections of the Transportation Code (TRC) of the State of Texas:
 - TRC Sec. 472.022 Construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present
 - TRC Sec. 545.066 Passing a school bus
 - TRC Sec. 545.401 Reckless driving
 - TRC Sec. 545.421 Fleeing or attempting to elude Police Officers
 - TRC Sec. 550.022 Accident involving damage to a vehicle

If you wish to use this option to have this citation dismissed, complete this request form and return it to the Court with the required documents and payment listed below ON or BEFORE your appearance date. Once you have been approved to take the course, you will receive a letter in the mail with all information needed to complete and return proof of completion to the Court.

Please include with your request:

- 1. Copy of your Texas Driver's License
- 2. Copy of your valid Insurance
- 3. Money order or Cashier's check for \$112.10 payable to Navarro County (No personal checks)
- 4. The following affidavit must be postmarked on or before your appearance date.

**Please initial

I hereby plead NOLO CONTENDERE (or) GUILTY				
I possess a valid Texas driver's license or permit other than a commercial driver's license					
I am (or) am NOT a member of the U.S. Armed Forces on active duty and have an out of					
state driver's license.					
I have NOT completed a driving safety cou	rse in the last 12 months to dismiss a ticket.				
I am NOT in the process of taking a driving	course to dismiss another offense.				
I am NOT charged with going 25 mph or m	ore above the posted limit or speeding 95 or				
more mph in any zone.					
I am NOT charge with any offense commit	red in a work zone with workers present.				
Printed Name	Signature				
Citation Number	Phone Number				
Address					
Email Address					