PRECINCT 2 (409) 385-7195 (409) 385-7194 – FAX



P.O. BOX 1612 3051 F.M. 92 N. SILSBEE, TEXAS 77656

CHARLES BREWER JUSTICE OF THE PEACE

COURTESY LETTER

PLEA FORM: Traffic/DSC

- 1. This letter is furnished as a courtesy to you by the Precinct 2 Justice Court of Hardin County, Texas to assist you in making disposition of the charge(s) filed against you. PLEASE NOTE: The Judge cannot discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding prior to trial (Canon 3(5). Code of Judicial Conduct). A TELEPHONE CALL DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN APPEARANCE; AN APPEARANCE IN COURT IS ONLY BY CERTIFIED MAIL, IN PERSON, OR BY YOUR ATTORNEY. A JUVENILE WHO FAILS TO APPEAR BY THE TIME AND DATE ON A CITATION MAY HAVE THEIR LICENSE SUSPENDED AS REQUIRED BY LAW. WARRANT FEES OF \$50.00 WILL BE ASSESSED FOR EXECUTING OR PROCESSING A WARRANT. ADDITIONAL COLLECTION FEES MAY ALSO BE ADDED TO DELINQUENT CASES.
- 2. IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF GUILTY OR NOLO CONTENDERE, please so indicate in the proper space provided on the reply form on the following page. Either plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the Court for trial. Please contact the Justice Court above to determine the total amount of fine(s) and costs. Make your remittance by Cashier's Check or Money Order payable to Judge Charles Brewer-JP2. Return a copy of the Citation and this letter with your remittance to assure proper credit.
- 3. **IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF NOT GUILTY** and desire a trial, please so indicate on the reply form on the reverse side and mail your plea on or before your appearance date. You will be notified by the Court when you MUST appear for trial and any other required procedures. You are required to advise the court of any address changes. You have a right to trial by jury, if you so request.
- 4. DRIVING SAFETY COURSE INFORMATION: Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may be able to have this (one) charge be dismissed by taking a driving safety course. HOWEVER, YOU WILL LOSE THAT RIGHT IF YOU DO NOT PROVIDE WRITTEN NOTICE TO THE COURT OF YOUR DESIRE TO DO SO ON OR BEFORE YOUR APPEARANCE DATE (AS SHOWN ON YOUR CITATION). DO NOT TAKE A DRIVER'S SAFETY COURSE PRIOR TO APPROVAL FROM THE COURT. (You cannot have a speeding citation dismissed if it is a violation of 25 MPH or more above the posted limit, if you possess a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), if you have completed a course within 12 months immediately preceding the date of the citation, if you do not have a valid Texas driver's license or permit (unless you are active duty military), or if you do not have proof of financial responsibility as required by Section 601 of the Transportation Code. If you wish to use this option to have this citation dismissed, read and complete the request form on the reverse side and return it to the Court with the required fee of \$144.00 and proof of insurance on or before your appearance date. You will have 90 days from the date of request, to provide the Court with the required documentation showing successful completion of an approved Driving Safety Course (the signed COURT COPY of the certificate). IF YOU MEET THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AS STATED ON THE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE REQUEST FORM ON THE LAST PAGE, THEN YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLETING THE COURSE AND REMITTING THE SIGNED COURT COPY COMPLETION CERTIFICATE TO THE COURT. (FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS ON THE LAST PAGE.)
- 5. TRAFFIC OFFENSES: JUVENILES 16 & UNDER MUST APPEAR IN COURT WITH A PARENT OR GUARDIAN
- 6. **ALCOHOL OFFENSES:** MINORS 17-20 YEARS OF AGE MUST APPEAR IN PERSON. 16 AND UNDER MUST APPEAR WITH A PARENT OR GUARDIAN.

PAY FINES ONLINE! https://www.govrec.com/home/hardincotx

REPLY FORM

(Mail to the Justice Court indicated on the previous page. Enclose your copy of the Citation with your reply. Enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope if you need a receipt.)

Name (Print or type as it appears on your driver's license)		Driver's license number	
Current Mailing Address	City, State, Zip	Telephone Number	
Citation No.	Date of Citation	Date cited to appear on or before	
PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED!) i Charles Brewer-JP2.)	vaive my right to trial by jury. CASHIER'S in the amount of the fine(s) is enclosed. (Ma	ake your remittance payable to Judge	
	CHECKS ACCEPTED!) in the amount of		
3. I hereby enter a plea of NOT GUILTY date. Advise the court of any changes	and request a trial by JURY . I understand in address.	the Court will notify me by mail of my trial	
	and waive my right to a jury trial and reque mail of my trial date. Advise the court of a		
NOTE: JUVENILES 16 & UNDER MUST APP	EAR IN COURT WITH PARENT OR GUA	RDIAN.	
Signature	Date	Fine Amount	

REQUEST FORM FOR DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

(FAILURE TO REMIT THIS FORM ON OR BEFORE YOUR APPEARANCE DATE WILL RESULT IN INELIGIBILITY FOR THE COURSE.)

*** THIS REQUEST MUST BE APPROVED PRIOR TO TAKING A DRIVER'S SAFETY COURSE ***

Please indicate True or False next to the statements listed. If any are False, you are NOT eligible for the Driving Safety Course

and you must refer to the above form. I hereby plead NO CONTEST. I have NOT taken a driving safety course in lieu of paying a fine during the past twelve months. I am NOT in the process of taking a driving safety course to dismiss another offense. I have not completed a driving safety course that is not yet reflected on my driving record. I understand I CANNOT take the driving safety course if I possess a commercial driver's license or committed a serious traffic offense. I understand I CANNOT take the driving safety course if the citation was issued in a Construction Zone with Workers present. I understand I CANNOT take the driving safety course in lieu of paying the fine if I am accused of speeding 25 miles an hour or more over the posted speed limit. I ENCLOSE proof of a valid TEXAS driver's license or permit OR proof of active duty military service if I possess a non-Texas driver's license. (A photocopy is acceptable – NO ORIGINALS PLEASE!!)
I ENCLOSE proof of Financial Responsibility (insurance). (A photocopy is acceptable -- NO ORIGINALS PLEASE!!) I ENCLOSE a money order or cashier's check made payable to Judge Charles Brewer-JP2 in the amount of \$144.00. I understand that I am responsible for completing a STATE approved Driving Safety Course and remitting the proper completion certificate to the Court before the expiration of the 90-day extension. I understand that this form must be NOTARIZED (if you are mailing the request to the Court). IF YOU HAVE COMPLIED WITH THE ABOVE REQUIREMENTS, YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THE COURSE AND ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLETING AN APPROVED COURSE AND REMITTING THE SIGNED COURT COPY OF THE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE TO THE COURT BEFORE THE EXPIRATION OF THE 90-DAY EXTENSION. SIGNATURE SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME this the _____ day of ____ (SEAL) NOTARY PUBLIC Name (Print or type as it appears on your driver's license) Driver's license Number **Current Mailing Address** City, State, Zip Telephone Number Social Security Number Race / Sex Date of Birth Citation Number Date of Citation Date Cited to Appear on or Before

CHECKLIST:

When requesting the Driving Safety Course, make SURE you have included the following Items:

- 1. The COMPLETED, NOTARIZED Request Form for Driving Safety Course as printed above;
- 2. A cashier's check or money order in the amount of \$144.00 made payable to Judge Charles Brewer-JP2;
- 3. A copy of your financial responsibility (insurance);
- 4. A copy of your valid Texas driver's license or permit.