L. W. "Nubbin" Cooper Jr. County Commissioner, Precinct 1

Chris Kirkendall
County Commissioner, Precinct 2



Wayne McDaniel County Judge

Amanda Young
County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Ernie Koch
County Commissioner, Precinct 4

Hardin County Commissioners Court is currently accepting nominations for the volunteer position of Emergency Services Commissioner to fill two (2) vacancies on the board of Hardin County Emergency Services District No. 2. The term will begin upon appointment and taking the Oath of Office, and end on December 31, 2025. The appointee may be re-appointed to serve a two-year term beginning on January 1, 2026.

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a political subdivision of the state with taxing authority, governed by a board consisting of five (5) Emergency Services Commissioners. ESDs operate autonomously from County Government, and all other governmental entities. It is the responsibility of Hardin County ESDs to provide fire protection and emergency medical response to the citizens located within the district served by the ESD.

A person must meet the following qualifications to serve as an ESD Commissioner:

- 1. Must be at least 18 years of age.
- 2. Must be a resident citizen of the state that is:
  - a. A qualified voter within the ESD; or
  - b. An owner of land subject to taxation within the ESD.

While there are no set criteria for appointment of an ESD Commissioner beyond the age and residency requirements listed above, Hardin County Commissioners Court is seeking certain traits in a potential ESD Commissioner, such as the ability to work well with the board and the community, have basic knowledge of business practices and budgeting, and be able to pass a background check.

State law also requires the Commissioners Court to consider relevant factors in determining the individuals to appoint as ESD Commissioners, including whether the nominee has knowledge of fire prevention or emergency medical services, and knowledge that is relevant to the common policies of the ESD Board.

County Commissioners will review the nominations submitted and appoint two (2) ESD Commissioner to fill these vacancies at its Regular Meeting on October 22, 2024. The deadline to submit a Nomination Form is October 15, 2024, as instructed at the bottom of the form. Upon appointment, an ESD Commissioner must execute an Official Oath of Office, a Statement of Appointed Official, and a Conflict Disclosure Statement.

<b>Emergency Services Comm</b>	issioner Nomination for 2024-2025 Term
☐ ESD 1 (Kountze) <b>X</b> ESD 2 (Lumberton) ☐ ESD 3 (Saratoga) ☐ ESD 4 (Batson) ☐ ESD 5 (Sour Lake) ☐ ESD 6 (Silsbee) ☐ ESD 7 (Votaw-Thicket) ☐ ESD 8 (Village Mills)	
factors in determining the individuals to ap	res that the Commissioners Court consider certain relevant point as Emergency Services Commissioners, including whether to fire prevention or emergency medical services and that is ces of the Board.
To serve as a member of an ESD Board a pe  (1) at least 18 years of age; and  (2) a resident citizen of the state and a qual to taxation in the district.	ified voter within areas served by the district, or the owner of land subject
Upon appointment, successful nominees mu Official, and a Conflict Disclosure Statement.	ust execute an Official Oath of Office, a Statement of Appointed
Name of Nominee	Physical Home Address of Nominee
Cell Phone Number	Email Address
Occupation	Employer
Is the Nominee a member or Employee of an governmental entity? If yes, provid	y Fire Department, Emergency Medical Service, or any le information:
Nominee's experience relative to fire preven	tion or emergency medical services:
Nominee's experience relative to common policies and practices of the ESD Board:	
Other experience or qualifications to be co	nsidered:
Nominee's nature of interest in Emergency	Services District:
Nomination submitted by:	
Name	Address
Cell Phone Number	Email Address
One additional page may be attached to provide further information relative to this nomination.	

Submit Nomination Form via email to: <a href="mailto:Lora.Guynes@Co.Hardin.TX.US">Lora.Guynes@Co.Hardin.TX.US</a>; or by hand-delivery to: Hardin County Commissioners Court, Hardin County Courthouse, 300 West Monroe Street, Kountze, Texas 77625

<sup>\*</sup>This form will be used to fill any vacancies during this term. \*\*Deadline to submit is 5:00PM October 15, 2024.