
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Form 
50-260

Dealer’s Vessel and Outboard Motor Inventory Tax Statement
CONFIDENTIAL
   ________________    __________ Page  _________  of pages ________
 Reporting Month Year

____________________________________________________________________  ____________________________
Send Original with Payment to: County Tax Office Name and Address Phone (area code and number)

____________________________________________________________________  ____________________________
Send Copy to: Appraisal District Name and Address Phone (area code and number)

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: This inventory tax statement must be filed by a dealer of vessel and outboard motor inventory pursuant to Tax Code Section 
23.125. This statement is filed together with an amount equal to the total amount of the unit property tax assigned to all vessels and outboard motors sold 
in the preceding month. File a separate statement for each business location and retain documentation. 

FILING INSTRUCTIONS: This document and all supporting documentation must be filed with the appraisal district and tax assessor-collector offices in the 
county in which the business is located. Do not file this document with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. A directory with contact information for 
appraisal district and tax offices may be found on the Comptroller’s website.

STATEMENT DEADLINES: Except as provided by Tax Code Section 23.125(g), a statement and prepayment of taxes must be filed on or before the 10th 
day of each month. 

PENALTIES: A dealer who fails to file or timely file a statement commits a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine not to exceed $100 with each day 
that the dealer fails to comply a separate violation. In addition to other penalties provided by law, a dealer who fails to file or timely file a statement must 
forfeit a penalty of $500 for each month or part of a month in which a statement is not filed or timely filed after it is due. A tax lien attaches to the dealer’s 
business personal property to secure payment of the penalty. In addition to other penalties provided by law, an owner who fails to remit unit property tax 
due must pay a penalty of 5 percent of the amount due. If the amount due is not paid within 10 days after the due date, the owner must pay an additional 5 
percent of the amount due. Unit property taxes paid on or before Jan. 31 of the year following the date on which they are due are not delinquent.

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

The chief appraiser or collector may examine documents held by a dealer in the same manner and subject to the same conditions as provided by Tax 
Code sections 23.124(g) and 23.125(f).

STEP 1: Dealer Information

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Name of Dealer

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Mailing Address

____________________________________________________________________  ____________________________
City, State, ZIP Code Phone (area code and number)

____________________________________________________________________  ____________________________
Name of Person Completing Statement Title

STEP 2: Business Location Information

Provide the appraisal district account number if available or attach a tax bill or copy of appraisal or tax office correspondence concerning your account. 
Provide the dealer’s and manufacturer’s numbers issued by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD).

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Name of Business

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Address, City, State, ZIP Code

___________________________________________________   _____________________________________________
Account Number  TPWD Dealer’s and Manufacturer’s Numbers

The Property Tax Assistance Division at the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts provides property tax 
information and resources for taxpayers, local taxing entities, appraisal districts and appraisal review boards.

For more information, visit our website: 
comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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STEP 3: Inventory Information

Provide the following information about each vessel and outboard motor sale during the reporting month. Continue on additional pages if necessary. In 
lieu of filling out the information in this step, you may attach separate documentation setting forth the information required. All such information must be 
separately identified in a manner that conforms to the column headers used in the table below. See last page for additional instructions and footnotes.

Description of Vessel and Outboard Motor Sold
Purchaser’s Name

Type of 
Sale1

Sales 
Price2

Unit Property 
Tax3

Date of 
Sale

Model 
Year Make Identification Number

Total Unit Property  

Tax this month4

________________________________________________
Unit Property Tax Factor

https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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STEP 4: Units Sold and Sales Amount

Breakdown of Units Sold for Reporting Month

___________________________   _____________________   ______________________  _____________________
Vessel and Outboard Motor Inventory Fleet Transactions Dealer Sales Subsequent Sales

Breakdown of Sales Amounts for Reporting Month

$ __________________________  $ ____________________  $ _____________________ $ ____________________
Vessel and Outboard Motor Inventory Fleet Transactions Dealer Sales Subsequent Sales

STEP 5: Signature

 _________________________________________________________   ________________________________
Print Name Title

 _________________________________________________________   ________________________________
Authorized Signature Date

If you make a false statement on this report, you could be found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or a state jail felony under Penal Code Section 37.10.

Additional Instructions
1 Type of Sale: Place one of the following codes by each sale 

reported:

 VM – vessel and outboard motor inventory – the sale of 
watercraft used or capable of being used for transportation on 
water that is not more than 65 feet in length (vessels) and the 
sale of self-contained internal combustion propulsion systems 
which are used to propel vessels and which are detachable 
as a unit from the vessel (outboard motors). The term “vessel” 
also includes a vehicle that is designed to carry watercraft and 
is either a “trailer” or “semitrailer” as defined by Transportation 
Code Section 501.002(23) and (29). The term “vessel” does not 
include watercraft of more than 65 feet in length; or a seaplane 
on water; or canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, rubber rafts, 
or other vessels under 14 feet in length when paddled, poled, 
oared, or windblown. This category does not include a fleet 
transaction, dealer sale, or subsequent sale, each of which is 
defined below. Only this type of sale has a unit property tax (see 
below). [See, Tax Code Sections 23.124(a)(8), (14), (15); and 
Parks and Wildlife Code, Section 31.003.]

 FL – fleet transaction – the sale of five or more vessels or 
outboard motors from a dealer’s vessel and outboard motor 
inventory to the same business entity within one calendar year. 
[Tax Code Section 23.124(a)(7).]

 DL – dealer sale – the sale from a dealer’s vessel and outboard 
motor inventory to another dealer, that is, a person who holds 
a dealer’s and manufacturer’s number issued by the Parks and 
Wildlife Department under the authority of Parks and Wildlife 
Code Section 31.041, or is authorized by law or interstate reci-
procity agreement to purchase vessels or outboard motors in 

Texas without paying the sales tax. The term does not include 
the manufacturer of vessels or outboard motors. [See, Tax Code 
Section 23.124(a)(3).]

 SS – subsequent sale – a dealer-financed sale of a vessel or 
outboard motor that, at the time of the sale, has been the sub-
ject of a dealer-financed sale from the same dealer’s vessel and 
outboard motor inventory in the same calendar year. [Tax Code 
Section 23.124(a)(12).]

2 Sales Price: The price as set forth on the “Application for Texas 
Certificate of Number/Title, for Boat/Seller, Donor or Trader’s 
Affidavit” for a vessel, the “Application for Texas Certificate of 
Title for an Outboard Motor/Seller, Donor or Trader’s Affidavit” 
for an outboard motor, or the “Application for Texas Certificate 
of Title” for a trailer treated as a vessel, or the price that would 
appear if those forms were used.

3 Unit Property Tax: To compute, multiply the sales price by the 
unit property tax factor. For fleet, dealer and subsequent sales 
that are not included in the vessel and outboard motor inven-
tory, the unit property tax is $-0-. Contact either the county tax 
assessor-collector or county appraisal district for the current 
unit property tax factor. The unit property tax factor is calcu-
lated by dividing the prior year aggregate tax rate by 12. If the 
aggregate tax rate is expressed in dollars per $100 of valuation, 
divide by $100 and then divide by 12. It represents one-twelfth 
of the preceding year’s aggregate tax rate at the location. If no 
unit property tax is assigned, state the reason.

4 Total Unit Property Tax for This Month: Enter the total amount 
of unit property tax. This is the total amount of unit property tax 
that will be submitted with the statement to the collector.

https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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