IN THE ESTATE

OF

CAUSE NO.

IN THE COUNTY COURTS

AT LAW NO. 1 & 2 OF

w W W O W

HUNT COUNTY, TEXAS

COURT INSTRUCTIONS OF THE INDEPENDENT ADMINISTRATOR OF AN INTESTATE ESTATE

As the duly appointed Independent Administrator of this estate, you are hereby advised by the Court
that you must comply with the following statutory requirements:

File your Oath within 20 days after the date of the order granting Letters of Independent
Administration. This is a mandatory requirement. Sec. 305.052, Estates Code.
If ordered by the Court, file the Bond within 20 days after the date of the order granting
Letters of Independent Administration. This is mandatory requirement in those cases where a
bond has been ordered by the Court. Sec. 305.101, Estates Code.
Issue Notice to Creditors as follows (these are mandatory requirements):
a. Notice to unsecured creditors is required within 1 month after receiving
Letters of Independent Administration. Notice is given by publishing the
notice one time in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the
letters are issued. Publisher’s affidavit showing date of publication shall be
filed with the clerk. Sec. 308.051, Estates Code.
b. Notice to secured creditors is required within 2 months after receiving Letters
of Independent Administration. Notice is given by certified or registered mail,
return receipt requested, at the creditors’ last known address. The
Administrator’s Affidavit of Notice to Secured Creditors, along with copies of
each notice mailed with certified mail return receipt, shall be filed with the
clerk. Sec. 308.053, Estates Code.
c. Notice to Comptroller of Public Accounts by certified mail is required if
decedent paid or owed taxes administered by the Comptroller. Copy of
notice with certified mail return receipt shall be filed with the clerk. Sec.
308.051, Estates Code.

4. File an Inventory, Appraisement and List of Claims of the Estate within 90 days of

qualification (filing of oath and bond, as applicable) as required in Sec. 309.051 of the Texas
Estates Code. This is a mandatory requirement. Failure to file an inventory, appraisement
and list of claims within 90 days of qualification or any extension granted by the Court may
result in an Order to Show Cause and/or revocation of letters and a fine not to exceed
$1,000.00. Sec. 309.057, Estates Code.

When assets have been distributed to the beneficiaries, you may, if you wish, file a Closing
Notice or Report to Close the Estate, attaching receipts from the beneficiaries, if all estate
business has been completed and six months has elapsed since the estate was opened, or an
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action for Declaratory Judgment under Chap. 37, Civil Practice & Remedies Code. Chap. 405,
Estates Code.

6. Consult with your attorney on any matter regarding this estate you do not understand. Failure
to comply with the mandatory requirements of the Texas Estates Code may result in penalties
up to and including revocation of letters of appointment or other penalties as provided by

Statute.
JUDGE TIMOTHY S. LINDEN JUDGE JOEL D. LITTLEFIELD
Hunt County Court at Law No. 1 Hunt County Court at Law No. 2
l, , the duly appointed Independent Administrator of the above

referenced estate, hereby attest that | have read the above and understand its contents.

Signature

Date Independent Administrator

l, , the attorney for the Independent Administrator, certify that
| have discussed with my client(s) the responsibilities of an Independent Administrator of the Estate.

Signature

Date Attorney
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