## JUDGES OF THE JUSTICE COURTS OF WASHINGTON COUNTY, TEXAS



[]] Judge Douglas Zwiener - Justice of the Peace, Precinct One 1305 East Blue Bell Road, Suite 114 (Washington County Event Center) Brenham, Texas 77833 (979) 277-6260 – Office (979) 277-6296 - Fax jp1clerk@wacounty.com Web site: http://www.co.washington.tx.us/page/washington.JP1 []] Judge Douglas Cone - Justice of the Peace, Precinct Two 4260 Sausage Lane (<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> mile West of Brazos River on US Hwy 290) Chappell Hill, Texas 77426 (979) 836-5008 - Office/Text (979) 353-0041 - Fax jp2clerk@wacounty.com Web site: www.washingtoncountyjp2.com [] Judge Ken Tofel - Justice of the Peace, Precinct Three 100 East Main. Suite 202 (Courthouse) Brenham, Texas 77833 (979) 277-6200 - Ask for JP # 3 (979) 277-6226 - Fax jp3clerk@wacounty.com Web site: http://www.co.washington.tx.us/page/washington.JP3 Judge Bill Kendall – Justice of the Peace, Precinct Four []] Mailing Address: Physical Address: P. O. Box 120 402 N. Main St. Burton, Texas 77835 Burton, Texas 77835 (979) 289-2921 – Office (979) 289-5001 - Fax jp4clerk@wacounty.com Web site: http://www.co.washington.tx.us/page/washington.JP4 \*\*\* TO PAY BY CREDIT OR DEBIT CARD \*\*\* To pay by telephone, call toll-free number: 1-979-353-3007, follow instructions OR

Go online to: www.washingtoncountypayments.com and select correct court.

QR code path to credit card payment page **PLEASE NOTE** 



The Judge CANNOT discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding prior to actual trial Canon 6(c): Texas Code of Judicial Conduct}. This means that the Judge is forbidden from discussing your ticket with you before trial except as to PROCEDURAL matters. If you plead GUILTY and have extenuating circumstances, the Judge may discuss those with you. **\*\*NO PLEAS ARE ACCEPTED BY TELEPHONE\*\*** 

This COURTESY LETTER is furnished to you by the Justice Courts of Washington County to assist you in the processing of the charge(s) filed against you. READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY AND COMPLETELY. THEN, IF NECESSARY, CONTACT THE PROPER COURT.

# Make money orders payable to: Washington County

IMPORTANT

IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR IN COURT AS PROVIDED BY LAW FOR THE PROSECUTION OF THE OFFENSE OR IF YOU FAIL TO SATISFY A JUDGEMENT ORDERING THE PAYMENT OF A FINE AND COSTS IN THE MANNER ORDERED BY THE COURT, YOU MAY BE **DENIED RENEWAL OF YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE.** 

Revised January 1, 2020

# **\*YOUR CHOICES:\***

#### TO PAY YOUR TICKET 1.

Pay the fine as outlined on the back of this letter. Check GUILTY or NOLO CONTENDERE on the reply form. Hand-deliver or mail WITH DATED POSTMARK to the proper Court ON or BEFORE your APPEARANCE DATE listed on your citation. Send the following:

- A copy of your original ticket
- ٠ The completed reply form - dated, signed and with your plea CLEARLY MARKED
- Payment must made by CASHIER'S CHECK, MONEY ORDER, credit card (see instructions)
- All Courts accept credit card payments SEE instruction below to pay by credit card.

## IF YOU WANT TO TAKE THE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (DSC)

## To be eligible, YOU MUST:

2.

- Have a valid Texas driver's license (NOTE: The holder of a Commercial Driver's License is NOT ELIGIBLE for DSC or MOTC, whether driving either a commercial vehicle, a personal vehicle or motorcycle)
- Certify that you have not taken the course in the proceeding 12 months for the purpose of ticket dismissal: and.
- Not have been cited for a speed of 25 mph or more over the legal speed limit. Send the following items to the Court (if mailed, it MUST be postmarked ON or BEFORE your Appearance Date): 1.
  - A completed reply form (reverse side of this page) signed, dated & NOTARIZED
- 2. Proof of your valid Texas liability insurance
- 3. Copy of your ticket
- 4. Self-addressed. STAMPED envelope 5.
  - A copy of your valid Texas driver's license
  - A Court Fee of \$144.00 MUST be in the form of a CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY. DO NOT take the course until you receive written permission from the Court. If you apply and do not meet the requirements, you will forfeit the \$ 10.00 administrative fee and your entire fine amount will be immediately due. You will have 90 days from the date of Court approval to complete your course AND return all necessary paperwork to the Court in order to be granted a dismissal of the charge. If you fail to meet the 90 day deadline, a WARRANT for your arrest may be issued and your driver's license renewal may be denied.

#### 3. I WANT TO DISPUTE THE TICKET

You MUST send the Court:

6.

- A completed reply form (reverse side of this page) noting NOT GUILTY AND designate whether you want a trial by JUDGE OR BY JURY (six person).
- A copy of your ticket
- A copy of your valid driver's license

YOU will be summoned to Court for your trial date. The Washington County Attorney will be the prosecutor. You may be represented by an attorney of your choice, but it is not necessary in Justice Court. You MUST immediately notify the Court of any change of your address.

4. IF YOU DO NOTHING BY YOUR APPEARANCE DATE - You will be charged with an additional criminal offense of Violate Promise to Appear/Failure to Appear for which additional fines and costs will attach. AN ARREST WARRANT WILL BE ISSUED IN YOUR NAME.

# **READ COMPLETELY BEFORE CALLING THE COURT**

#### **COURTESY LETTER – WASHINGTON COUNTY, TEXAS**

Revised January 1, 2020

All fines listed below INCLUDE all State of Texas mandated fees

SPEEDING 1

1.	SIEEDING	
	1-5 mph over posted speed limit	\$240.00
	6-10 mph over posted speed limit	\$285.00
	11-15 mph over posted speed limit	\$290.00
	16-24 mph over posted speed limit	\$315.00
	25-30 mph over posted speed limit	\$334.00
	31+ mph over posted speed limit CONTACT	COURT
2.	MOVING VIOLATIONS	\$190.00
3.	EQUIPMENT VIOLATIONS	\$170.00
4.	REGISTRATION VIOLATIONS	\$120.00*
5.	DRIVER'S LICENSE VIOLATION	\$185.00*
6.	NO PROOF OF LIABILITY INSURANCE (1 <sup>st</sup> Offense)	\$435.00**
7.	FAILURE TO CHANGE ADDRESS	\$135.00
8.	SEAT BELT VIOLATION	\$170.00
9.	UNRESTRAINED CHILD	\$300.00
10.	PUBLIC INTOXICATION	\$340.00
11.	Poss. Drug Paraphernalia/disorderly conduct/simple assault	\$340.00
12.	MINOR IN POSSESSION (alcohol or tobacco) CONTACT	COURT
13.	OPEN CONTAINER VIOLATION	\$215.00
14.	FAILURE TO STOP FOR SCHOOL BUS (loading or unloading)	\$775.00
15.	DRIVING WHILE LICENSE INVALID (1 <sup>st</sup> Offense)	\$425.00
16.	PASSING STATIONARY EMERGENCY VEHICLE	\$340.00
17.	UNLAWFUL TEXTING OR USE OF CELL PHONE (first offense)	\$190.00

++SPEEDING FINES ARE DOUBLED IN CONSTRUCTION ZONES WHEN WORKERS PRESENT++ DEFENDANTS UNDER 17 MUST APPEAR IN COURT WITH PARENT OR GUARDIAN

#### **REQUIREMENTS FOR DISMISSIBLE VIOLATIONS**

NOTICE:

#### Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Art. 45.041 (a-1)

There may be an alternative to full payment of any fine or costs assessed against a Defendant if the Defendant is eligible to remedy the fine(s) and Cost(s) by one of the following methods. If the judge determines after a hearing, that the Defendant does not have sufficient resources or income to immediately pay all or part of the fine(s) and cost(s), the Judge shall determine whether the fine(s) and cost(s) should be:

- 1. Required to be paid at some later date or in a specified portion at designated intervals (payment plan)
- 2. Discharged by performing community service;
- 3. Waived in full or in part: or
- 4. Satisfied through any combination of these methods.
- \* EXPIRED REGISTRATION VIOLATIONS Charges may be dismissed if this violation is:
  - Remedied within 20 WORKING DAYS from date of the ticket and:
  - Proof of registration from County Tax Assessor-Collector showing vehicle registration valid for 12 months, and,
  - Proof of payment of delinquent registration penalty fee to State of Texas at Assessor's Office and,
  - Cashier's Check or Money Order for \$20.00 Administration Fee payable to the Court.

\* EXPIRED DRIVER'S LICENSE VIOLATIONS - Charges may be dismissed if this violation is:

- Remedied within 20 WORKING DAYS from date of the ticket and,
- Provide proof of valid driver's license status to the Court and,
- Cashier's Check or Money Order for \$20.00 Administration Fee payable to the Court.

#### **\*\* NO LIABILITY INSURANCE/FAILURE TO MAINTAIN FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY**

- Proof of verifiable liability coverage AT THE TIME the ticket was issued. ٠
- Proof of insurance must have insurance agent contact information.

#### YOU MUST ENTER YOUR PLEA IN WRITING OR IN PERSON ON OR BEFORE YOUR APPEARANCE DATE LISTED ON YOUR TICKET. \*\*\*\*\*A TELEPHONE CALL DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN APPEARANCE\*\*\*\*\*

#### REPLY FORM

Mail to the Justice Court marked on the reverse side of this letter. IMPORTANT – Enclose a copy of your ticket AND a copy of your driver's license

You are required to keep the court advised of your current mailing address until the case is disposed. PLEASE PRINT:

Name (as appears on license):

Ticket #: \_\_\_\_\_ Date of Ticket: \_\_\_\_\_

Date cited to appear: Driver's License #:

Mailing Address:

1

н

н

Т

н

I.

1

T

I.

L

L

L

1

I.

City: \_\_\_\_\_ State: \_\_\_\_\_ Zip Code: \_\_\_\_\_

Cell Phone #: E-mail:

## Complete either A or B below

## A. PLEA FORM - IF YOU WANT TO PAY OR CONTEST THE CHARGE

### Check One:

- [] I hereby enter a plea of GUILTY and waive appearance for trial. CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the amount of the fine is enclosed payable to Justice Court marked on the reverse page.
- I hereby enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE (NO CONTEST) and waive appearance for [] trial CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the amount of the fine is enclosed pavable to Justice Court marked on the reverse page.
- [] I hereby enter a plea of **NOT GUILTY** and request (PICK ONE): [] trial by **Judge** OR [] trial by **Jury**

Sign Name: \_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_

## B. DRIVING SAFETY COURSE APPLICATION - SEND BY CERTIFIED

I hereby request to take a Driving Safety Course CCP Art. 45.0511. Enclosed is my notarized request, proof of liability insurance, a copy of my driver's license, and a CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the amount of **\$144.00**. Remember to also send a self-addressed STAMPED envelope!

My Plea is: (Check only one) [] Guilty [] Nolo Contendere (No Contest)

I certify that I have a valid Texas driver's license or permit; that the alleged speed was not 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit and the alleged speed was not 95 or mph or higher; that I have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 within the past 12 months and am not in the process of taking such a course and that I have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 which is not reflected on my official DPS driving record. I AM NOT INDIGENT.

I understand that I will be charged court costs and a dismissal fee and that these fees are nonrefundable and must be paid to the court before my charge will be dismissed.

I understand that I am not eligible for the Driving Safety Course unless I provide proof of liability insurance as required by Texas Motor Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act.

Printed Name of Defendant:
Signature of Defendant-Under penalty of perjury:

Signed this the \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_\_.

Notary Public of the State of Texas