WHERE TO Illegal Dumping: |||ega|

DUMP LEGALLY A Serious Problem Dum pl N g

. for Texas
Transfer Station:
Collecti R i i -
2(?0963113123?1211);:3011—11?]% IS{t;tlon Property owners, taxpayers, and local I n

governments in Texas spend millions of
dollats each year cleaning up illegal

dumps. WaShington
Mon.-Fri. 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Illegal dumping threatens our health C t
Saturday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm and safety. Pollutants can seep into o u n y
rivers and groundwater. Dumps can be
breeding grounds for rats and

mosquitoes. Children playing near It,S CO Stil’lg YOU!

illegally dumped waste can be injured.

What You Can Do

e Dispose of your litter
propetly and encourage
others to do the same.

¢ Spread the word to friends
and neighbors that illegal
. dumping is a ctime;

involving fines, jail time, ot
both,

Brenham, TX 77833
(979) 922-5958

Household trash accepted for $2 per bag

Mulch available at this location

e Organize volunteer cleanups
RECYCL i of illegal dumpsites, to
E . discourage dumping.

You make a difference!

Cedar Creek on Old Navasota Rd.

e Contact your local elected !
officials to let them know Taxp ayers pay the cost of

your concerns. cleanjng up dumps on pub]ic
lands and right-of-ways.

e Report illegal dumping
(see inside for more

( ) (REV 2021-04)
information)



Penalties

Illegal dumping is serious business, and tough Texas laws punish dumpers with fines,
jail time, or both. Here’s what illegal dumpers who get caught in Texas can expect . . .

SoLD WASTE
TX Health and Safety Code, Section 365

Class C— Solid waste weighing
b pounds or less, or with a vol-
ume of 5 gallons or less. Fine
up to $500.

Class B — Solid waste
weighing more than 5 but
less than 500 pounds, or
with a volume of more than
b gallons but less than 100
ft?. Jail up to 180 days and a
fine up to $2,000.

Class A — Solid waste
weighing 500 — 1,000 Ibs.,
or with a volume of 100 —
200 ft3, or disposed for a
commercial  purpose,
weighing 5 — 200 lbs. or
having a volume of 5 gal-
lons to 200 ft3. Jail up to
one year and a fine up to
$4,000.

State Jail Felony —
Solid waste illegally dis-
posed weighing 1,000
Ibs. or more or having a
volume of 200 {t® or
more, or disposed of for
commercial  purpose
and weighing more than
200 Ibs. or having a vol-
ume of 200 ft3 or more, or contained in a closed drum or barrel.
Imprisonment up to two years and/or up to $10,000 fine.

Usep Om. (FELONY)
TX Water Code, Sec. 7.176

Improper disposal, storage, or

$1,000 — $60,000 and imprison-
ment up to five years.

WATER QUALITY
TX Water Code, Sec. 7.1456

Intentional or knowing dis-
charge of a waste or pollutant

handling of any used oil. Each day
is a separate offense. Fine of

that threatens to cause water
pollution, Each day is a separate offense. Imprisonment up to
five years and a fine of $1,000 — $100,000. :

BATTERIES _
TX Water Code, Sec. 7.185

Disposing or discarding of a lead-
acid battery except to an autho-
rized collection or recycling busi-
ness or facility. Each battery and
each day is a separate offense. Jail up to one year and fine up
to $4,000.

JUNKED VEHICLES
TX Transp. Code, Sec. 683

Inoperable vehicle visible from
public right-of-way. Fine up to
$200, vehicle may be abated.

“OK - So who do I Call?”

'T'o teport illegal dumping or to get mote
information about legal disposal options,
contact:

Washington County
Environmental Health

3650 Highway 36 North

Brenham, TX 77833

(979) 277-6290

Mon.-Fri. 8:00 am — 5:00 pm

Or
email: jgpamboa(@wacounty.com
Or
To report illegal dumping after
normal business houts call

Communications at (979) 277-7373

Who Are We?

Washington County Environmental
Health, working to prevent illegal
dumping and other environmental

crimes.

www.co.washington.tx.us



