STATE OF TEXAS §

COUNTY OF MCCULLOCH §

ORDER PROHIBITING OUTDOOR BURNING

WHEREAS, the Commissioners Court finds that circumstances present in all or part of the
unincorporated areas of the county create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor
burning;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the Commissioners Court of McCulloch County that all outdoor burning is
prohibited in the unincorporated areas of the county 90 days from the date of adoption of this Order,
unless the restrictions are terminated earlier based on a determination made by: (1) the Texas Forest
Service that drought conditions no longer exist; or (2) the Commissioners Court [or the County Judge or
County Fire Marshal based on a determination that the circumstances that required the Order no longer
exist. This Order is adopted pursuant to Local Government Code §352.081, and other applicable
statutes.

This Order does not apply to outdoor burning activities:
(1) related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality for:

(A) firefighter training;

(B) public utility, natural gas pipeline, or mining operations; or

(C) planting or harvesting of agriculture crops; or
(2) that are conducted by a certified and insured prescribed burn manager certified under Section
153.048, Natural Resources Code, and meet the standards of Section 153.047, Natural Resources Code.

THE GUIDELINES AS SET OUT BELOW MUST BE FOLLOWED IF CERTAIN ACTIVITIES ARE BEING
PERFORMED:

Restrictions related to outdoor welding or related activities:

¢ Notify the McCulloch County Sheriff’s Department Dispatch at 325-597-2290 if you are
performing continuous hot work such as welding, operating a cutting torch, or related work.

e A spotter is required for each welder / operator of hot equipment.
e A minimum of one water pressurized fire extinguisher per spotter is required.

e McCulloch County cannot be under a Red Flag Warning issued by the National Weather Service
when outdoor weiding or other hot work is being performed.

Restrictions related to burning of household related trash:

¢ Only a covered metal receptacle may be used to burn household related trash and the
receptacle must contain all flames and sparks produced by the fire.



* You must be present at all times during the complete burn of the trash.

A water supply must be readily available until the trash is completely burned and cool to the
touch.

Restrictions related to outdoor cooking:
e Anindividual must attend the grill at all times.
e A water supply must be available at all times.
e Cooking must be performed in an enclosed cooker.

In accordance with Local Government Code §352.081(h), a violation of this Order is a Class C

misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00. ADOPTED this 24th day of July, 2023 by a
vote of 5 for this Order, O against this Order,and _© abstaining.
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